Understanding the Federal DOT Inspection

Understanding the Federal DOT Inspection

Understanding the Federal DOT Inspection

While you may know Anjer Inc. for selling the best Maxon liftgate parts in Montgomery County, you may be surprised to learn that we also offer Federal DOT inspections on over-the-road trailers.

What is a Federal DOT Inspection?

The DOT inspection is an annual inspection that is conducted by a certified DOT inspector to ensure that all of the parts and accessories of commercial motor vehicles (CMV) are safe to use and are in good working condition. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations defines commercial motor vehicles as any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle that is used on a highway or interstate commerce and meets one of their four criteria.

The Primary Levels of a Federal DOT Inspection

There are six primary levels of the DOT inspection that CMV’s must meet all of the six inspection level requirements. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration provides the following description of each of the inspection levels:

Level 1 – Full inspection

At this level of the inspection the examiner will review the following documentation:

  • Driver’s license
  • Medical examiner’s certificate
  • Skill performance evaluation certificate
  • Driver’s record of duty status and hours of service

They will also check the vehicle for signs of drugs and alcohol, and inspect vehicle parts and accessories including but not limited to seatbelts, brakes, and tires.

Level Two – Walk-Around

The second level of inspection is almost identical to the first level except the inspector will not examine any parts that require physically getting under a CMV.

Level Three – Driver Only

At the third level of inspection, the inspector will take an in-depth look at the following:

  • Driver’s license
  • Medical Card
  • Driver’s record of daily status
  • Seatbelts
  • Driver and vehicle inspection report
  • Driver’s incident history
  • Hazmat requirements

Level Four – Special Study

The fourth level of inspection consists of a one-time inspection of a specific part. This examination is used to verify or refute a study or suspected trend.

Level Five – Terminal

This level of inspection includes everything under level one but the driver is not present for this inspection.

Level Six – Radioactive Materials

The last level of inspection includes the following:

  • Inspection of radiological shipments
  • Inspection procedures
  • Level 1 enhancements
  • Enhanced out of service criteria
  • Radiological requirements

Anjer Inc. can help you get your trailer up to code by addressing and correcting any potential safety hazards. For more information on our Federal DOT inspections or how you can buy Palfinger liftgate parts in Bucks County, PA, please call 800-598-3981.


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.